Posted by: thataintallfolks | April 23, 2012

Blog Post #11: Animation comes to Life

When I was four years old, I got to go to Walt Disney World in Florida for the first time. While riding “It’s a Small World” and Dumbo were highly remembered, the highlight bar none of the trip was the meet and greets with the Disney character mascots. It was amazing as a young child to see these animated people on a screen come to life, showing a new dimension of animation in a life-like form.

Looking back on my trips that followed to Walt Disney World, none seemed to capture the awe and imagination of the first. To this day, I remember having my autograph book in hand waiting in long lines to get autographs from such characters as Mickey Mouse, Goofy, and Chip and Dale. While I do think that past and future generations still get some of the same excitement of Disney as I did, I believe my-age generation got more, growing up with characters from “The Disney Renaissance.” The ability to see such idols as Ariel, Simba, Belle, and Aladdin really gave a connection from the silver screen to real life.

Call it great marketing or child-like wishes, but Disney as always for me exceeded the mark on capturing the dreams of every young child. I still have my autograph book today and treasure it as much as I did then. To me, the autograph of a Disney character equals that of an athlete or movie star; the ability to meet, shake hands, or get a hug from a childhood idol is priceless.

What are your thoughts? Did any of you get to travel down to Orlando (or Anaheim) to meet Disney characters? Or did you have another moment in your childhood when you met someone you idolized?

 

 

Responses

  1. I went to Orlando when I was nine, and stood in line to meet Mickey Mouse, pretty much because I was told that’s what you do in Disney World. When we finally got to the front of the line (about a twenty-minute wait), we were told you had to pay to go inside and meet Mickey. Mom and I left, rejoined our family, and went back to riding the rides. The lesson I got from that was: go to amusement park rides to be amused, not to meet celebrities.

  2. […] Comment #1 […]

  3. I never had the chance to go there as a child. I feed like I am missing out on some sort of right of passage. It’s funny how that works though, An amusement park based around our childhood WOULD be one of the best memories people have.

  4. […] Blog Post #11: Animation comes to Life by thataintallfolks […]

  5. Never been to a Disney theme park, but I have been to Paramount Kings Dominion and in the old days they did have people dressed up as Hanna-Barbera characters. I remember when I was about 5, the commercials showing the characters on the rides with kids and thinking it would be so cool to hang out with Yogi. When my family went there that summer, I was too scared to go up to him. The Klingon didn’t scare me for some reason though.

  6. i think that seein our favorite characters as kids in real life is one of the best parts. its a nice memory to have thats for sure. i know when i went to disney world and saw them in the parade it was great. every time i watch those cartoons ill remember that.

  7. I never really desired to meet anyone I saw on TV, real or animated. I suppose I always knew they ‘weren’t real’ and the dressed up characters I saw on Disney ads were frankly creepy to me!

    For years I sneered at Disney and its tight regulation on its characters and films and tough corporate attitude. My view relaxed over the years and I finally got to go to Disney World for the first time 2 years ago. We took a behind the scenes tour and I was simply amazed at the amount of effort and detail that went into creating this fantasy world, and most importantly, to keep it a dream fantasy FOR THE CHILDREN. No children were even allowed on this tour, to ensure the magic was kept alive and real for them. As an adult visitor, I was not expecting much in the way of special treatment but came home loaded with random goodies that were randomly passed to me by cheerful employees. I didn’t get any autographs, but thoroughly enjoyed the conversations I had with some of the Princesses we encountered.

    Sadly, I now see Disney World not as a dream trip come true, but the place I would head to in the event of a zombie apocalypse. They’ve got their own local food, water, and power sources, an extensive underground system, and all sorts of amazing metal and craft workshops.

  8. […] Comment #21 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Posted in Uncategorized […]

  9. […] Comment 6 […]

  10. Childhood memories that I cherish more than my trips to DisneyWorld are far and few between. I can remember finally getting to meet all of my favorite characters (Donald was the best) and getting their autographs and going to diner with the characters making the rounds. Even riding the rides, where you felt like you were a part of your favorite movies was the coolest thing. I actually was just in DisneyWorld this past summer, and I can tell you first hand, that feeling of being in Disney never leaves, and it truly is my favorite place to be. What can I say, I’m a big kid at heart and Disney is the place where it’s still acceptable to be a kid.

  11. […] Comment #21 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

